fbpx
English EN Bahasa Melayu BM 简体中文 简体中文
English EN Bahasa Melayu BM 简体中文 简体中文

什么原因导致儿童泌尿问题

以及在马来西亚该怎么做

常规产品的 泌尿系统 是从肾脏开始,沿着输尿管(水管)到达膀胱,再从膀胱穿过尿道(另一个水管),在男孩中,尿液离开人体以前也需要经过包皮。 

男孩和女孩之间的另一个区别是尿道的长度。

儿童泌尿问题
泌尿道

当演变成 儿童泌尿问题时,就是指尿液可能混浊或血迹
或排尿时感到疼痛。

年幼的孩子可能无法告诉您有关他或她的症状,这可能使您难以决定孩子的需求。 

作为父母,主要有两种问题您必须留意: 尿道感染 & 尿道结石。

尿道感染

尿道感染是相当普遍的,尤其是在女孩中。症状包括排尿时疼痛、发烧、尿液染色或浑浊,这也可能出现强烈的气味。

尿道结石

早年婴儿体液摄入不足、尿路反复感染或早产儿早年接受重症监护是导致儿童结石形成的因素。

泌尿问题的常见症状
及其可能因素

强烈的气味、浑浊的尿液或尿液中有血液

  • 便秘
  • 膀胱排空不良
  • 膀胱输尿管逆流
  • 结石
  • 尿道感染(UTI)
  • 创伤

排尿时灼热感

  • 尿道感染(UTI)
  • 男孩包皮感染
  • 结石

腰部疼痛
(肚子的两侧)

  • 上尿道梗阻
  • 膀胱输尿管逆流
  • 肾结石
  • 肾脏异常

您的孩子可能患有

尿道感染

尿道感染是相当普遍的,尤其是在女孩中。 症状包括排尿时疼痛、发烧、尿液血迹或浑浊,可能还会有强烈的气味。您的孩子很少会面对开始排尿困难和根本无法排尿。

细菌常位于生殖器和会阴区(内裤区域),但是大多数细菌相对无害。 通常,尽管孩子每次排便时都会洗手,但在孩子的粪便中发现的细菌却位于该区域。 如果有“机会”,一些细菌会在孩子的外部“水管”上流,在“内部”造成麻烦。 细菌通常通过尿道从外面进入尿道。

患有上述症状,您的孩子将需要去看医生并采集尿液样本以确认其确实是尿路感染,如果是这样,应该开始使用抗生素。 如果病情严重,最好在医院用静脉内抗生素治疗您的孩子。 首次确诊感染时,应进行肾脏和膀胱的超声波扫描,以发现任何结构异常。 大多数感染可以用抗生素安全治疗。

如果超声波检验显示结构异常,则最好去看儿童外科医生,其时间取决于对抗生素的反应。例如,如果反应较差或有结石阻塞泌尿系统等显著问题,则需要紧急转诊,不过一旦感染得到解决,只需进行膀胱输尿管逆流之类的门诊诊治。此举目的是防止任何可能对肾脏造成永久性或不可逆损害的问题发生。  

 

尿道结石

幸运的是,这在马来西亚儿童是很罕见的。婴儿体液摄入不足、尿道反复感染或早产儿早年接受重症监护是导致儿童结石形成的可能因素。儿童由于“化学不平衡”(新陈代谢)而结石的情况极为罕见。结石的问题在于,它可能导致尿流阻塞。这可能在过后导致停滞的尿液感染。阻塞或感染均可导致不可逆转的肾脏损伤。

泌尿道上部(肾和输尿管)结石的症状是腰部疼痛(腹部一侧),有时剧烈而弯曲(来去去),尿液中有血液,尿道疼痛(放射自腰部腹股沟或尿液有气味/浑浊。 膀胱结石可表现出上述大多数症状或类似的疼痛,但在小腹中可能伴有尿路间歇性(停止和开始)。

至关重要的是,泌尿系统没有阻塞或对肾脏造成感染(停滞的尿液),在这两种情况下,都可能对肾脏造成损害。

如果出现上述任何症状,最好带孩子去有儿童外科医生的医院。通常尿液检查和超声波扫描是首先要进行的。紧急的问题是要减轻任何的阻塞或治疗任何的感染,以防止肾脏损伤。最小的干预一直都是治疗目标,但对于阻塞性结石,需要重新进行引流以避免肾脏损伤,因此需要进行外科手术,例如插入支架或导管以绕过阻塞。

包皮问题–感染或疤痕

大多数男孩天生具有包皮过紧,即无法在龟头(阴茎头)上缩回。这称为包茎,正常情况下称为生理性包茎。在5岁时,几乎10%的男孩仍会患有这种疾病,而5岁时是10%,他们都是正常的。在青春期以后,只有大约1%的男孩会因生理性包茎而遇到麻烦,他们需要进行包皮环切术以免青少年时引起问题。

患有包茎很难在皮肤下进行清洁,而且皮肤那里会累积一些发白的分泌物。它们可能表现为珍珠状的团块,可通过男孩的包皮(包皮垢)看到。但是,这可能导致包皮下的感染(龟头炎)。感染后,治疗方法是将阴茎浸泡在温盐水中,并在包皮中涂抹局部抗生素乳膏(请咨询您的普通医生),只要您的男孩可以排尿即可,尽管会有些疼痛和疑惑。这样会好起来,通常皮肤也会恢复正常。如果包皮在几周内恢复正常,则无需进行手术。一些男孩可能会反复感染,但这也被认为有助于阴茎龟头和包皮的分离。如果皮肤有疤痕或增厚(病理性包茎或包皮异常),则您的男孩将需要包皮环切术。

无法通过尿液,排尿困难或包皮疤痕严重,逐渐使尿液难以通过的孩子,应在医院急诊科紧急求诊小儿外科医生。

有关包皮环切术以及何时需要的详细文章 点击此处详细了解。.

上尿道梗阻

(产前诊断为肾脏扩张)

上尿道梗阻的最常见原因是骨盆-输尿管交界处(肾盂输尿管连接部阻塞,PUJ阻塞)(连接骨盆、肾脏的收集漏斗通向膀胱的输液管、输尿管之间的交界处)。这主要是先天性的或您孩子与生俱来的。有时,这是由于出生后出现一些疤痕(非先天性)所致。由肾盂扩张引起的症状可能是该区域的间歇性疼痛或可能是尿液感染。

产前发现PUJ阻塞的发生率持续增加。除非影响肾脏的生长,否则在产前期间除了定期进行扫描以进行监测外,几乎别无其他选择。婴儿出生后,将进行基线超声波扫描,以了解其大小并与后续扫描进行比较,因此我们可以检测到任何变化或决定是否需要进行手术干预。在决定手术之前,还要进行进一步的扫描,例如核同位素扫描,以评估其肾脏的功能以及尿液在该连接处的流动情况。除非感染或急性恶化,否则出生后不久应由儿童外科医生照护您的孩子,并在门诊诊所进行随访。在急性情况下,通常应立即进行手术以解除梗阻并降低严重肾脏损伤的风险。

对于不太急性的情况,应进行随访扫描,如果肿胀恶化且尿液流经PUJ的情况较差,则可以进行在腹部切开最小切口的锁孔手术以纠正问题。   

膀胱输尿管逆流(VUR)

这是输尿管和膀胱之间的自然“瓣膜”出现故障的情况。结果孩子排尿时,尿液从外在尿道排出,还有一些尿液通过“有缺陷的”瓣膜回流,并向肾脏输送到输尿管。这可以发生在单边,也可以是双边的。逆流的问题有不同的程度,从较轻的1级到最严重的5级,即膀胱输尿管逆流。VUR使孩子易患尿道感染,因为他们的膀胱在任何时候都不会排空。被推向肾脏的受感染尿液可能会导致不可逆转的肾脏损伤和疤痕。这种情况的目的是要防止尿道感染,甚至将逆流程度降低至较低等级,以免感染的尿液到达肾脏并在肾脏造成损伤。

因此,每个首次患上尿道感染的儿童都应该进行超声波检查,以排除这种或其他结构性的问题。

其他需要进行诊断和治疗管理的检查是尿道膀胱造影,这是一项通过导管注入膀胱的染料测试,以显示逆流及其严重程度。 尽管马来西亚的大多数人在出生后的第一年就发生尿道感染,但也可以通过产前检查来诊断VUR。

治疗的主要目的是避免尿道感染。这可能包括长期使用低剂量的抗生素、对男孩进行包皮环切术或进行较小的内窥镜手术(注射抗逆流玻尿酸)以减少逆流程度。在有效预防尿道感染的情况下,很少需要进行更大的手术,例如输尿管再植入术。

当务之急是尽早咨询儿童外科医生以计划最佳治疗方案,防止肾脏损伤。

便秘

是肠和膀胱功能齐头并进所致。直肠和结肠位于儿童小骨盆中的膀胱后面。便秘导致结肠或直肠饱满,将推动膀胱向前并可能扭结其出口。反过来将导致尿液停滞并增加尿路感染的风险。那些活在会阴皮肤上的细菌则来自于粪便。便秘时,结肠中停滞的粪便会“繁殖”更多细菌。这些细菌通常是更具“侵略性”的细菌,当它们沿尿道上前进时可能会引起尿道感染。

定期排便将需要您的孩子进食大量的水和纤维。充足的水分摄入将会产生更多的尿液,以冲洗泌尿系统,而停滞不前会引起尿道感染。有便秘或尿道感染倾向的儿童应服用益生菌。“好”细菌不仅有助于肠的蠕动,而且在会阴皮肤上还具有健康的非“攻击性”细菌。

我的建议是每天摄取大量的水果、蔬菜和液体,主要是白开水和益生菌补充剂,以帮助便秘和预防尿道感染。

膀胱排空不良

如果儿童和成年人每天摄入足够的液体,则应不超过每3至4小时一次排空膀胱。 有些孩子玩得太忙了,以至于忘了排尿。 然后,它们的膀胱开始变大,最终可能会使其正常功能出现问题,即扩大到正常的最大尺寸,并在需要时完全排空。 如果尿液感染,则停滞型膀胱具有更高的风险。 以前接受过厕所训练,白天和黑夜都干燥且有湿润症状的孩子可能将此作为其湿润问题的原因。

这些孩子将被要求接受膀胱再训练计划,因为他们在两尾端范围都可以有尿失禁或尿滞留的问题。他们可能需要尽早去见他们友好的儿科医生。

创伤

从肾脏到膀胱和尿道的泌尿道任何部位都可能发生创伤。肾脏受到下部肋骨的部分保护,受到严重伤害的机会非常低,但是即使无害的跌倒,在显微镜下的尿液样本中也可以发现出血,尽管这对眼睛而言并不明显,这些都无需担心。

如果是穿透性创伤(背部或腹部穿刺)或高冲击伤,最好带孩子去急诊室,通常要进行CT扫描以寻找任何腹部或胸腔内的损伤。膀胱损伤是很罕见的,尽管一个膀胱饱满的孩子坐在汽车或巴士上可能会被系安全带而受伤。有时候尿道创伤可见发生在儿童降落在会阴处或跌倒时、两腿之间有重物撞击(跨骑伤)。这会使尿道受伤。排出大量血液而不是尿液的孩子需紧急送往急诊室。要给出所有可能的伤害情况以及何时带孩子去看医生是不可能的事。根据经验,高冲击伤害或您的孩子排尿困难、或者尿道中有明显的血液流出都有可能是严重损害孩子的尿道系统的症状。否则,如果您担心它们有某种伤害,请带他们去医院。

为您的孩子寻求帮助

3个简单步骤

步骤

预约

步骤

接收诊断报告

步骤

讨论治疗方案

诚心的建议和善待治疗应该是每个父母的权利

作为父母,我知道当您面临为孩子找到最佳治疗的困境时,这是多么艰巨的任务。

我的热情是确保我所有的患者都能得到最好的护理质量。

这需要与孩子和父母进行良好的沟通,同时使旅程尽可能轻松。

THJ签名

家长文章

这些文章和视频可帮助您给孩子诊断并为他们的治疗做出正确的决定

最新的Facebook帖子

评论框SVG图标用于喜欢,分享,评论和反应图标

02 2020月,17:42

纳达儿童外科医生

对于儿童阑尾炎,通常唯一的解决方案是通过手术(阑尾切除术)切除阑尾。

父母可以选择两种手术:

1)OPEN手术,或

2)KEYHOLE手术(或腹腔镜手术)。

您知道这两种技术之间的区别吗?

其中之一可减少疤痕,减轻痛苦并加快儿童的康复速度。

观看下面Nada博士的视频,找出哪一个是

---

您也可以通过阅读这篇有用的文章来了解有关儿童阑尾炎的所有信息以及在马来西亚如何治疗阑尾炎:

www.drnadachildsurgeon.com/resources/appendicitis-in-children-what-is-it-and-how-it-be-to-treat ...

---

Nada Sudhakaran博士是小儿外科和泌尿科专科医生,专门从事锁孔手术–该程序可帮助您的孩子减轻痛苦,恢复得更快并让您省心。

他位于马来西亚的吉隆坡。

#阑尾炎 #手术 #儿科 #儿科
... 查看更多见减

评论在Facebook

祝你好运。 医生..总是

24 2020月,16:37

纳达儿童外科医生

您是否知道阑尾炎是马来西亚儿童最常见的外科急症?

-附录是什么?
-什么是阑尾炎?
-有什么症状?
-在马来西亚如何治疗。

您是否知道可以通过锁孔入路(腹腔镜)方法进行阑尾炎手术(阑尾切除术)?

与开放式手术相比,这可减少切口和疤痕,并且患者可以在更短的时间内出院。

在这里找到有关阑尾炎和治疗的所有信息>>

www.drnadachildsurgeon.com/resources/appendicitis-in-children-what-is-it-and-how-it-be-to-treat ...

---

嗨,我是Nada博士,专门从事锁孔手术的儿科外科医生-该程序可帮助您的孩子减轻痛苦,恢复得更快并让您省心。 我的工作地点在马来西亚的吉隆坡。
... 查看更多见减

评论在Facebook

您好,先生,我的孩子只有1个月大,他的眉毛附近有皮样囊肿,并且越来越大。 他什么时候会得到治疗...

库纳拉楚梅·塞尼瓦桑

更多

预约

在任何一家您首选的医院与Nada医生预约,我们将诊断出如何才能更好地帮助您的孩子。

或填写下面的表格

这些医院可以预约

fbpx

What Causes Urinary Problems In Children

And What To Do About It In Malaysia

The urinary system starts from the kidneys, down the ureter (water-pipe) to the bladder and from the bladder out through the urethra (another waterpipe), in boys, urine also needs to go through the foreskin before leaving the body. 

The one other difference between boys and girls is the length of the urethra.

Urinary Problems In Children
The Urinary Tract

When it comes to urinary problems in children, the urine may be cloudy or blood stained
or there is pain on passing urine.

A young child may not be able to tell you about his or her symptoms, which can make it hard to decide what your child needs. 

As a parent there are two main types of problems you need to be aware of: Urinary Tract Infections & Urinary Tract Stones.

Urinary Tract Infection

Urinary tract infections are reasonably common, especially in girls. Symptoms include pain when passing urine, fever, blood stained or cloudy urine, which may also be strong smelling.

Urinary Tract Stones

Poor fluid intake, recurrent urinary tract infections or admission to the intensive care as a premature baby in the early years are factors that could contribute to stones formation in children.

Common Symptoms Of Urinary Problems
And Their Possible Causes

Strong Smelling, Cloudy Urine or Blood in Urine

  • Constipation
  • Poor bladder emptying
  • Vesico-ureteric reflux
  • Stones
  • Urinary tract infection (UTI)
  • Trauma

Burning Sensation When Passing Urine​

  • Urinary tract infection (UTI)
  • Infection at foreskin in boys
  • Stones

Pain In The Loin
(sides of tummy)

  • Obstruction of the upper urinary tract
  • Vesico-ureteric reflux
  • Stones in kidney
  • Abnormal kidneys

Your Child Might Be Suffering From

  • Urinary Tract Infection
  • Urinary Tract Stones
  • Foreskin problems – infection or scarring
  • Obstruction of the upper urinary tract
  • Vesicoureteric reflux (VUR)
  • Constipation
  • Poor bladder emptying
  • Trauma

Urinary tract infection

Urinary tract infections are reasonably common, especially in girls. Symptoms include pain when passing urine, fever, blood stained or cloudy urine, which may also be strong smelling. Rarely your child may have difficulties even initiating a urinary flow and not able to pass urine at all.

It’s common for bacteria to reside in the genital and perineal area (underpants area) however most bacteria are relatively harmless. Usually the bacteria that’s found in your child’s feces is what’s resides in this area, despite washing each time they have bowel motion.  When there is an “opportunity”, some bacteria can go up the child’s external “water-pipe” and cause trouble “inside”. The bacteria usually enter the urinary tract through the urethra, from outside.

With the above symptoms, your child will need to see a doctor and a urine sample taken to confirm that its truly a urinary tract infection, and if so, antibiotics should be started. If severely ill, its best to treat your child with intravenous antibiotics at a hospital.  When there is confirmed infection for the very first time, an ultrasound scan of the kidneys and the bladder should be done to look for any structural abnormalities. Most infections can be treated safely with antibiotics.

If the ultrasound suggests a structural abnormality, it is best to see a child surgeon, the timing of which is dependent on the response to the antibiotics. With poor response or a significant issue like a blockage to the urinary system with a stone, for example, its an urgent referral but something like a vesico-ureteric reflux is an outpatient visit once the infection is settled. The aim is to prevent anything that may cause permanent irreversible damage to the kidney(s).  

 

Urinary tract stones

This, fortunately, is rare for children in Malaysia. Poor fluid intake, recurrent urinary tract infections or admission to the intensive care as a premature baby in the early years are factors that could contribute to stones formation in children. It’s extremely rare for children to develop stones due to a “chemical imbalance” (metabolic). The problem with stones is that it can cause obstruction to urine flow. This can then lead to infection in the stagnant pool of urine. Both the obstruction or the infection can cause irreversible kidney damage.

Symptoms of stones in the upper part of the urinary tract (kidney and ureter) are loin pain (side of the tummy) which is sometimes sharp and colicky (comes and goes), blood in the urine, pain with passage of urine (radiating from the loin to the groin) or smelly/ cloudy urine.  Stone in the bladder, could present with most of the above symptoms or with similar pain but in the lower abdomen and perhaps with intermittency of urine passage (stop and start).

It’s crucial that the urinary system is not blocked or to have infection towards the kidneys (in a stagnant pool of urine), in both these situations it likely to cause damage to the kidney(s).

With any of the above symptoms, its best to take your child to a hospital with a child surgeon. Urine test and an Ultrasound scan is usually done in the first instance. The urgent issues are to relieve any obstruction or to treat any infection so as to prevent kidney damage. Minimal intervention is always the aim but with an obstructing stone, the drainage need to be reestablished to avoid kidney injury, therefore a surgical procedure such as inserting a stent or tube to bypass the obstruction is needed.

 

Foreskin problems – infection or scarring

Most boys are born with tight foreskin which cannot be retracted over the glans (head of the penis). This is called phimosis and this is referred as physiological phimosis as its normal. At the age of 5 years, almost 10% of boys will still have this and 5% at 10 years, all of whom are still normal. Only about 1% of all boys will run into trouble with physiological phimosis past puberty and they are the ones who need a circumcision to avoid issues as an adolescent.

With the phimosis, it’s difficult to clean under the skin and there will be some whitish secretion from the skin collecting there. They can appear as pearly lumps that may be visible through your boy’s foreskin, called smegma. This however can cause infection under the foreskin (balanitis). With infection here, the treatment is to soak the penis in a warm salt water bath and applying topical antibiotics cream into the foreskin (see your GP), as long as your boy can pass urine, albeit with a little pain and hesitation. This will get better and usually the skin will get back to normal. If the foreskin returns to normal in a few weeks, there is no need for surgery. Some boys may get recurrent infections here but this is also thought to be beneficial to help with the foreskin separating for the glans of his penis. If there is scarring or thickening of the skin (pathological phimosis or abnormal foreskin), then your boy will require a circumcision.

A child who cannot pass urine or is having difficulties emptying his bladder or has a scarred foreskin, progressively making it harder to pass urine should see a paediatric surgeon urgently, at the hospital emergency department.

 

Obstruction of the upper urinary tract

(Antenatally diagnosed kidney dilatation)

The most common cause of upper tract obstruction is at the pelvi-ureteric junction. (PUJ obstruction) (junction between the pelvis, the collecting funnel at the kidney to the tube that leads this to the bladder, the ureter). This is mostly congenital or something your child is born with. Very occasionally, this is due to some scarring after birth (non congenital). The symptoms that is caused by dilated kidney pelvis may be intermittent pain over that area or possibly urine infections.

Antenatal pick up of PUJ obstruction is increasing in number. Unless the growth of the kidney is effected, there is little to be done during the antenatal period other than regular scans to monitor. Once baby is born, a baseline ultrasound scan is done to have an idea of size and for comparisons with subsequent scans and so we can detect any changes or decide on the need to intervene surgically. Further scans like a nuclear isotope scan is done to assess the function of their kidneys and how good the urine flow is across this junction before the decision for surgery. Unless infected or with acute deterioration, your child should be seen by a pediatric surgeon soon after birth and followed up in the outpatient clinic setting. With the acute setting, surgery is usually done immediately to release the obstruction and reduce the risk of significant kidney damage.

For the less acute situation, follow up scans are done and if there is worsening of the swelling with poor urine flow across the PUJ, a keyhole surgery with minimal incisions on the tummy can be done to rectify the problem.   

 

Vesicoureteric reflux (VUR)

This is a condition where the natural “valve” between the ureter and the bladder is faulty. What happens as a result is that when the child passes urine, the urine comes out through the urethra externally and also some urine refluxes up via the “faulty” valve and up the ureter towards the kidney. This can be single sided or on both sides. There are various degrees to this reflux problem, from the milder grade 1 to the worst, grade 5, vesicoureteric reflux. VUR predisposes the child to urinary tract infection as their bladder is never empty at any one time. Infected urine that is pushed towards the kidney may cause irreversible kidney damage and scarring. The aim with this condition is to prevent urinary tract Infection or even to reduce the degree of reflux to lower grades so that we don’t get infected urine reaching the kidney and cause damage there.

For this reason, every child who has the first episode of urinary tract infection should have an ultrasound scan to exclude this or any other structural problems.

The other investigation required for diagnosis and treatment management is a micturating cystourethrogram which is a dye test injected into the bladder via a tube, to demonstrate reflux and its severity. VUR can also be diagnosed on antenatal scans, though the majority in Malaysia are picked up with urinary tract infection within the first year of life.

The mainstay of treatment is to avoid urinary tract infections. This may include a long period of low dose antibiotics, circumcision for a boy child or minor endoscopic surgery (injection of deflux) to reduce the degree of reflux. Very rarely would bigger surgery such as re-implantation of the ureters be required with effective active prevention of urinary tract infection.

It’s imperative that early consult with a paediatric surgeon is made to plan optimal management form the offset to prevent any risk of kidney injury.

 

Constipation

Bowel and bladder function goes hand in hand. The rectum and colon sits just behind the bladder in a small pelvis of a child. Constipation causes a full colon or rectum, will push the bladder forward and can kink its outlet. This in turn will cause urine being stagnant and increase the risk of urinary tract infection. Bacteria that lives on the skin over the perineum is derived from the feces. With constipation, the stagnant feces in the colon, will “breed” more bacteria within. Often these are the more “aggressive” types of bacteria which may cause urinary tract infection when they travel up the urethra.

Regular bowel evacuation would require your child to consume good amount of water and fiber. Adequate water intake will in turn produce more urine to flush out the urinary system and not have stagnancy to encourage urinary tract infections. Children who has a tendency for constipation or urinary tract infections should take probiotics. The “good” bacteria not only help with the bowel motion but also have healthy non “aggressive” bacteria over the perineal skin.

My advice is to take good amounts of fruits and vegetables and fluid, mainly in the form of plain water, daily and supplements of probiotics to help with constipation and preventing urinary tract infection.

 

Poor bladder emptying

Children and adults should empty their bladders no longer than every 3 to 4 hourly if they are taking their adequate daily fluid requirement.  Some children are too busy playing that they forget to pass urine. Their bladder then begins to become enlarged can eventually give problems with the way it normally function, that is distend to a normal maximum size and empties out completely when required. The stagnant type of bladder then has a higher risk if urine infection. A child who was previously toilet trained and was dry both day and night and has wetting symptoms may have this as their cause of their wetting problem.

These kids will be required to go through a bladder retraining program as they can have issues with incontinence or urinary retention on the both ends of the spectrum. An early visit to their friendly pediatric surgeon is probably what they require.

 

Trauma

Injury can happen to any part of the urinary tract from the kidney down to the bladder and urethra. The kidneys are partially protected by the lower ribs and the chances of significant injuries to them are pretty low however even with an innocuous fall microscopic bleeding can be found in the urine sample though not obvious to the eyes, these are nothing to be worried about.

With a penetrating injury (puncture to the back or abdomen)or a high impact injury, it’s best to take your child to an emergency department and usually a CT scan is done to look for any intra-abdominal or intra thoracic injuries. Bladder injuries are again rare though it can be seen with lap-belt injury when a child is sat in a car or bus, with a full bladder. Urethral injuries are sometimes seen when children land on their perineum or when they fall and something hits them hard between their legs (straddle injury). This can injure the urethra. A child who is passing frank blood instead of urine need to be taken to the emergency department urgently. It is impossible to give all the possible scenarios of injury and when to take your child in to see the doctor. As a rule of thumb, a high impact injury or if your child has difficulties passing urine of if there is obvious blood coming out of the urethra are examples of possible symptoms for significant injury to your child’s urinary tract system. Otherwise take them to the hospital if you are worried in any way if they has some sort of injury.

Schedule An Appointment

Set up an appointment with Dr. Nada at any of the preferred hospitals and we’ll diagnose how we can help your child better

Or fill up the form below

Appointment Available At These Hospitals

  • Pantai Hospital Kuala Lumpur
  • Room 1405, 4th Floor, Block A, 8 Jalan Bukit Pantai, 59100 Kuala Lumpur
  • Clinic Hours
    Mon : 9.00 AM - 5.00 PM
    Tue : 2.00 PM - 5.00 PM
    Wed : 9.00 AM - 5.00 PM
    Thu : 9.00 AM - 1.00 PM
    Fri : 9.00 AM - 5.00 PM
    Sat : 10.00 AM - 12.00 PM
  • +603-2296 0888
  • Gleneagles Kuala Lumpur
  • Block A & Block B, 282 & 286, Jalan Ampang, Kampung Berembang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur
  • Clinic Hours
    Tue : 9.00 AM - 12.00 PM
    Thu : 2.00 PM - 5.00 PM
  • +603-4141 3000
  • Prince Court Medical Centre
  • 2D, Level 2, 39 Jalan Kia Peng, 50450 Kuala Lumpur
  • By Appointment
  • +603-2160 0000
English EN Bahasa Melayu MS